#307 rjd2 – lazerface’s warning (remix)


It’s been awhile since I last posted in here because my mind’s been all over the place. For some reason, I could not bring myself to bash out a short paragraph or two about the songs I was listening to. One minute I was listening to this, and then I was listening to that, and in the end, the day would end and I’d be right back where I started.

Well, I’ve gotten over that phase, but I remember being drawn to the haunting loops of RJD2 aka Ramble John “RJ” Krohn’s early work and rough cuts. On songs like “Lazerface’s Warning”, the rare groove beats are loosely jointed ideas, perilously held together by the confident flow of an MC, and one or two minimal samples that act as a sort of gaffer tape with all the cracks showing. Yet somehow, this broken canvas seemed to reflect the tumultuous reflections in the mind better than any complete song ever could. – brian.

mp3: rjd2 – lazerface’s warning (remix)

Leave a Reply

