#382 Randy Newman – I Think It’s Going to Rain Today


Much as I enjoy the cantankerous side of Randy Newman as a songwriter and his gift for barbed satire, it’s often his more sentimental numbers that I love most when I listen to his albums, those songs of simple, unadorned beauty such as “Marie” and “Real Emotional Girl”. A recent song such as “Losing You” from his 2008 album Harps and Angels is a good example; “I Miss You” from Bad Love (1999) is another great one, even if he professes with regards to this song that something in him “can’t be straight about romance”. The one song that always kills me when I come across it is “I Think It’s Going To Rain Today”, released on his self-titled debut in 1968 and a song that’s covered many times. Randy Newman’s own version is probably the closest anyone can come to the core of the song’s sad lament, his vulnerable rendition conveying all the stark loneliness and disappointment in his somewhat ambivalent lyrics. Human kindness is overflowing, and I think it’s going to rain today. - Keith.


mp3: Randy Newman – I Think It’s Going To Rain Today

We couldn’t resist digging up Keith’s first post for us just over two years ago on Scott Walker’s “It’s Raining Today”. Thanks Keith!

Leave a Reply

